June 15, 2024


Timely – Precise – Factual

Mount Kenya Politicians Rush to Register Parties Ahead of 2022

636 00 Views

The disquiet within the Mount Kenya region is widening as leaders continue to disagree on how to approach next year’s general election.

Mount Kenya has been restless over its future as President Uhuru Kenyatta’s term comes to an end in August next year.

Having not identified a strong political figure to take over as the region’s supremo, leaders are jostling to be Mt Kenya’s spokesperson.

Already two functions have emerged with those supporting president Uhuru’s Jubilee party and those supporting the formation of a regional party.

Speaking to media recently, the registrar of Political parties Ann Ndiritu said that they have about 22 political parties that have issued with an interim certificate while 75 political parties are fully registered.

She revealed that Chama Cha Kazi allied to Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria was last week issued with a full registration certificate as well as the Party of Peace and Democracy, issued with a certificate last month.

“We have 22 political parties that have been issued with interim certificate ahead of 2022 general election, “she said.

Former Kiambu governor William Kabogo party dubbed Tujibebe Wakenya Party is the latest party within the Mount Kenya region.

Other parties that have been issued with interim certificates by the registrar include National Democratic Expansion Party, Mkenya Daima party, Chama cha Mapatano and Kenya Union Party.

Also the Daraja Development Party, the People National Republican Party, Adopt Development Party, Pamoja African Alliance and Kenya Democratic for Change have been registered.

Kabogo unveiled his new political outfit through his social media pages and urged Kenyans to organize themselves by making the right choices.

His entrance brings a total of about 11 leaders from the region with their own outfits a move that has been interpreted by analysts a suicidal as it might divide the region.

Among those with parties include Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Peter Munya (PNU), Martha Karua (Narc Kenya). Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria recently unveiled a new party, Chama Cha Kazi, Governor Mwangi wa Iria Usawa Kwa Wote, party.

Others include Jacob Gitau (PPK), Esau Kioni of the Democratic Party, Thuo Mathenge, The New Democrat and former Cs Mwangi Kiunjuri (TSP), Lenny Kivuti (Rebuild and Restore Party), Esau Kioni of the Democratic Party (DP), and Mpuru Apuri (National Ordinary People Empowerment Union, NOPEU).

During the latest meeting with leaders drawn from 7 parties from Mount Kenya, TSP leader Mwangi Kiunjuri underscored the need for the region to approach the election on a united front, cautioning that divisions will cause it to lose its negotiation powers.

He added that talks to organize a meeting with all leaders of political parties from the region are ongoing.

“We will form a united front and nothing will prevent us, this time around, Mount Kenya will speak in one voice, “he said.

Political analyst and chairman of Mount Kenya MCA caucus Charles Mwangi Ng’ang’a told the Star on Wednesday that the registration of more parties ahead of the 2022 general election will promote democracy.

He said that Kenyans are exercising their democratic rights and should not be subjected to scrutiny.

“There is no harm in registration of political parties, this will allow Wanjiku to elect a leader they desire, “He said.

He urged electorates to elect an individual in 2022 but not a party.

The New Democrat party leader Thuo Mathenge also said that majority of Kenyans registering their outfits are those who merged their parties in 2017 to join the Jubilee Party.

Mathenge said that the Mount Kenya region will form a coalition of parties without dissolving them and support one candidate as happened in the 2013 general election.

He said that the formulae that brought Uhuru and Ruto to power in 2013 will still be used.

“Mount Kenya leaders are strategizing on how they will support one candidate without dissolving their parties, it happened in 2013 and thus it will be applicable in 2022,” Mathenge said.

Among the parties to formed Jubilee party includes Jubilee Alliance Party (JAP), Alliance Party of Kenya (APK), United Republican Party (URP), Grand National Union (GNU), and New FORD–Kenya (NFK).

Others in the list were FORD People (FP), United Democratic Forum (UDF), and Chama Cha Mzalendo (CCU)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com